Tag Archives: Hall of Fame


Randy Johnson earns spot in Hall of Fame

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio have been elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame.

Johnson became the second Arizona Diamondbacks player to be elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame. The first was Roberto Alomar, who played one season for the D-backs in 2004.

Johnson, a five-time Cy Young Award winner including four with the Diamondbacks, ranks second on the all-time Major League strikeout list with 4,875 (first among left-handers). The 10-time All-Star won 303 games in his career, including a perfect game, and holds nearly every major career pitching record in D-backs franchise history. In 2001, he was named the co-MVP of the D-backs’ World Series Championship.

Baseball writers elected four players for the first time since 1955, with the Big Unit, Martinez and Smoltz earning induction on the first try Tuesday. Biggio made it on the third attempt after falling two votes shy last year.

The quartet will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 26. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America had not given four players the necessary 75 percent in a single year since selecting Joe DiMaggio, Gabby Hartnett, Ted Lyons and Dazzy Vance 60 years earlier.


W. P. Carey School Honors Top Business Leaders

Three top business leaders will be honored for their contributions to our economy, when they are inducted into the W. P. Carey School of Business Homecoming Hall of Fame this month. The honorees are accomplished executives in the fields of wireless technologies, cruises and nonprofits.

On Oct. 25, the new inductees will join previous honorees from such diverse organizations as the American Red Cross, Motorola, the U.S. Air Force, Wells Fargo Bank, XM Satellite Radio and the Arizona Diamondbacks. This will be the 35th annual event to honor top business alumni from Arizona State University.

“All of these inductees have risen to the top of their industries, demonstrating leadership and achievement in their professions, the community and the business school,” says Robert Mittelstaedt, dean of the W. P. Carey School of Business. “They serve as a clear example to our students that you can reach your goals in any field with a high-quality education, commitment and hard work.”

This year’s honorees are:

William Keitel, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Qualcomm Incorporated – Keitel joined Qualcomm; a leader in cutting-edge wireless technologies, products and services; in 1996. The multibillion-dollar company’s portfolio includes thousands of patents and operations in more than 30 countries. Prior to Qualcomm, Keitel was an executive at telecomm-equipment manufacturer Nortel and PepsiCo. He has won numerous industry awards, including the title of Best CFO in his field from Institutional Investor magazine. He earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration at the University of Wisconsin and his MBA at ASU.

Joseph Watters, founding chairman, Oceania Cruises – Watters has been a key player in the cruise industry for more than 30 years, including his creation of premium cruise line Oceania in 2002. He previously served as president of Crystal Cruises, Royal Viking Line and Princess Cruises, during which time the line’s relationship with the television show “The Love Boat” began. Watters also helped create the China Cruise Center to promote China as a worldwide cruise destination. He has been involved with a number of charities, including the Special Olympics, and is currently on the board of MarineMax, a New York Stock Exchange-listed company. He received his bachelor’s degree in advertising from ASU.

Diana Yazzie-Devine, president and chief executive officer of Native American Connections – Yazzie-Devine has headed up the nonprofit Native American Connections for more than 30 years. The 501(c)3 corporation provides behavioral health services, affordable housing and community-based economic development opportunities to Native Americans in the Phoenix area and tribal communities. It operates 18 service sites, including a one-stop community services center, and serves more than 5,000 individuals and families each year. Yazzie-Devine has won several business awards from organizations, including Valley Leadership and the YWCA. She earned her bachelor’s degree in human relations from Ottawa University and her MBA from ASU.

More than 200 alumni, business leaders and students are expected to attend the Homecoming Hall of Fame event on Thursday, Oct. 25 at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix. A reception starts at 5:30 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony.

Space is limited, and advanced registration is required. For more information on tickets or sponsorship, go to www.wpcarey.asu.edu/homecoming or call (480) 727-0596.