Tag Archives: Rickie Fowler


Keegan Bradley, Brandt Snedeker join Phoenix Open field

2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley and 2012 FedExCup champion Brandt Snedeker are among the latest commitments to the 2015 Waste Management Phoenix Open — to be played the week of January 26 through February 1 at TPC Scottsdale. A field of 132 players will vie for the $6.3 million purse, the $1,134,000 first-place check and 500 FedExCup points.

The field now includes 12 players who have combined to win 34 Major championships, including: Tiger Woods (14 Majors), Phil Mickelson (5), Padraig Harrington (3), Angel Cabrera (2), Retief Goosen (2), Bubba Watson (2), Keegan Bradley (1), Stewart Cink (1), Lucas Glover (1), Justin Leonard (1), David Toms (1) and Mike Weir (1). 86 of the top 125 from the final 2014 PGA TOUR Money List have entered the 2015 WM Phoenix Open, including 15 of the top 50 players on the Official World Golf Ranking, with Watson (4th), Jordan Spieth (9th) and Rickie Fowler (10th) the highest ranked players currently in the field.

Keegan Bradley is a former PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year award recipient, taking home the honor in 2011 after winning his first Major at the 2011 PGA Championship. Bradley joined Willie Park, Sr. (1860), Francis Ouimet (1913) and Ben Curtis (2003) as the only players to win in their Major debut. Bradley has claimed two other PGA TOUR victories in his career, including the 2011 HP Byron Nelson Championship and the 2012 World Golf Championships – Bridgestone Invitational. The 2015 WM Phoenix Open will be Bradley’s fourth start at the event. His highest WM Phoenix Open finish came in 2012 when he tied for 15th.

Snedeker began his career in 2007 in spectacular fashion with six top-10 finishes and a win at the Wyndham Championship carrying him to 2007 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year honors. Since then, he has collected five more PGA TOUR wins and five runner-up finishes, including one at the 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open. The 2015 WM Phoenix Open will be Snedeker’s ninth tournament appearance. He currently sits 18th on the tournament’s all-time money winners list.

Six past tournament champions are currently in the field, including Kevin Stadler (2014), three-time winner Phil Mickelson (1996, 2005 & 2013), Kyle Stanley (2012), Mark Wilson (2011), Kenny Perry (2009) and J.B. Holmes (2006 & 2008).


Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson set for Phoenix Open

Two-time champion Phil Mickelson and Masters winner Bubba Watson have committed to play in the Waste Management Phoenix Open.

The news of the popular PGA players’ participation should be an economic boost for business. The 2012 Waste Management Phoenix Open pumped $222 million into Arizona’s economy — with direct sales tax revenue estimated to be $8.2 million — and non-local attendees spent an average of $300 per day.

Defending champion Kyle Stanley, 2011 winner Mark Wilson and 2010 champion Hunter Mahan also are entered in the Jan. 31-Feb. 3 event along with Rickie Fowler, Nick Watney, Carl Pettersson, Nicolas Colsaerts and Lucas Glover.

Mickelson won at TPC Scottsdale in 1996 and 2005. The former Arizona State star will open his season Jan. 17-20 in the Humana Challenge in La Quinta, Calif.