Tag Archives: Virginia Commonwealth University


VCU dean selected as NAU Provost

James Coleman, dean of the College of Humanities and Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University, has been selected as the university’s next provost, President Rita Cheng announced.

“Jim’s broad background crosses multiple disciplines and his research focus makes him an excellent fit for provost. Perhaps more important, he shares our passion for transforming the lives of our students and meeting critical workforce needs for this state,” Cheng said.

Pending approval by the Arizona Board of Regents, Coleman will serve as NAU’s highest-ranking academic officer, working with the faculty to achieve the university’s mission and goals, including student success, educational access, excellence in education and integrity.

Coleman will replace Laura Huenneke, who said she looks forward to doing research again as a biological sciences faculty member. Huenneke has been provost since 2012 and previously served as NAU’s vice president for Research.

Coleman has worked as dean of the College of Humanities and Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University since 2011, where he also was a biology professor. He served as vice provost and professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Rice University, vice chancellor for Research and Biology professor at the University of Missouri and vice president for Research and Business Development at Desert Research Institute in Reno.

“I am so thrilled to join President Cheng and the amazing faculty, staff and students at NAU to help facilitate the continued success of NAU’s academic programs,” Coleman said. “NAU is a university that truly matters to its students and community. I feel so honored that I will get to be a part of NAU’s future.”

Coleman earned an undergraduate forestry degree from the University of Maine and a master’s and a Ph.D. from Yale’s School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.

As dean of the College of Humanities and Sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University, Coleman worked with 400 full-time and 200 part-time faculty members.

“NAU seems to be an institution that is a perfect fit to the passion I have for the role of higher education in society,” Coleman said. “I see higher education as a transformational force that opens up opportunities for students in ways that they might have never imagined, and engages with communities through research and outreach.”

Coleman said he also was interested in becoming provost at NAU because of the faculty’s commitment to engaging and mentoring students. “I hope to help shape NAU’s academic mission and programs, and to facilitate the continued growth of the institution’s reputation as an exemplary university,” Coleman said.

Coleman’s experience includes building community-engaged research, international partnerships and articulation agreements with community colleges.

“The combination of skills and experiences that Jim brings to the table ensures NAU will maintain a high quality education environment while solidifying relationships with new and existing partners,” Cheng said. “He will be a great asset to the university and to this community.”

Coleman will start as provost in mid-August after he and his wife, Adele, move to Flagstaff.


Arizona Telemedicine Program names advisory board

The award-winning Arizona Telemedicine Program (ATP) at the Arizona Health Sciences Center of the University of Arizona has announced the appointment of the National Advisory Board of the Telemedicine and Telehealth Service Provider Showcase (SPSSM), to be held Oct. 6-7 at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Phoenix.

The 24 nationally recognized thought leaders and health-care innovators have made major strides in the telemedicine arena. Members of the board are:

• Joseph S. Alpert, MD, professor of medicine, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson; editor-in-chief, The American Journal of Medicine

• David C. Balch, MA, chief technology officer, White House Medical Group, Washington, D.C.

• Rashid Bashshur, PhD, senior adviser for eHealth, eHealth Center, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor

• Anne E. Burdick, MD, MPH, associate dean for telehealth and clinical outreach, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

• Robert “Bob” Burns, commissioner, Arizona Corporation Commission, Phoenix

• Daniel J. Derksen, MD, director, Center for Rural Health; professor of public health policy; University of Arizona Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Tucson

• Charles R. Doarn, MBA, editor-in-chief, Telemedicine and e-Health Journal, family medicine, University of Cincinnati, Ohio

• Joe G.N. “Skip” Garcia, MD, UA senior vice president for health sciences; interim dean, UA College of Medicine – Tucson; professor of medicine, Arizona Health Sciences Center, University of Arizona

• Robert A. Greenes, MD, PhD, professor of biomedical informatics, College of Health Solutions, Arizona State University, Phoenix

• Paula Guy, chief executive officer, Global Partnership for Telehealth, Inc., Waycross, Ga.

• Deb LaMarche, associate director, Utah Telehealth Network, Salt Lake City

• James P. Marcin, MD, MPH, professor, pediatric critical care, University of California – Davis Children’s Hospital, Sacramento

• Ronald C. Merrell, MD, editor-in-chief, Telemedicine and e-Health Journal, emeritus professor of surgery, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond

• Thomas S. Nesbitt, MD, MPH, associate vice chancellor and professor, family and community medicine, University of California – Davis Health System, Sacramento

• Marta J. Petersen, MD, medical director, Utah Telehealth Network, Salt Lake City

• Joseph Peterson, MD, chief executive officer and director, Specialists On Call, Reston, Va.

• Ronald K. Poropatich, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh

• Lisa A. Robin, MLA, chief advocacy officer, Federation of State Medical Boards, Washington, D.C.

• Brian Rosenfeld, MD, executive vice president and chief medical officer, Philips Telehealth, Baltimore, Md.

• Jay H. Shore, MD, MPH, associate professor, Centers for American Indian & Alaska Native Health, University of Colorado, Aurora

• Joseph A. Tracy, MS, vice president, telehealth services, Lehigh Valley Health Network, Allentown, Pa.

• Wesley Valdes, DO, medical director, Telehealth Services, Intermountain Healthcare, Salt Lake City, Utah

• Nancy L. Vorhees, RN, MSN, chief operating officer, Inland Northwest Health Services, Spokane, Wash.

• Jill M. Winters, PhD, RN, FAHA, president and dean, Columbia College of Nursing, Glendale, Wisc.

“This is the first national meeting addressing telemedicine service provider issues. It’s long overdue!” said Ronald S. Weinstein, MD, ATP director and SPS honorary co-chair.

SPS will focus on building partnerships for bringing quality medical specialty services directly into hospitals, clinics, private practices and even patients’ homes. The goals are to improve patient care and outcomes and to increase market share for both health-care providers and telehealth service providers they partner with.

The convention is co-hosted by the ATP, the Southwest Telehealth Resource Center and the Four Corners Telehealth Consortium, which includes the Arizona Health Sciences Center at the University of Arizona, the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center and the Utah Telehealth Network.

More information about SPS is at www.TTSPSworld.com.