The Webby Awards honor websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile apps — and this year, the winners were announced early May and the Webby Special Achievement Awards were held on June 13.

Presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, the Webby Awards was established in 1996. Academy members range from Matt Groening, the creator of “The Simpsons”, to Internet inventor, Vint Cerf.

Two winners are chosen in each category by the Academy. There is also a “People’s Voice Awards” that gets hundreds of thousands of votes from all over the world.

This year’s Special Achievement winners were limited to a five word acceptance speech; three of the winners included:

LCD Soundsystem, a Webby Artist of the Year, for taking full advantage of the internet by announcing their final show online and then streaming the show in it’s entirety on the website

Funny or Die, as Webby Film and Person of the Year, with videos that include comedians such as Will Ferrel, that are voted on as “Funny” or “Die”.

Groupon, as Breakout of the Year, for negotiating large discounts with big businesses and sending deals out to thousands of subscribers for free.

For a full list, visit the Webby Awards’ website.

Past winners include:, iTunes, BBC News and Google.

View this year’s Webby Awards on its YouTube channel.