regional planning agency

Regional Planning Agency MAG Elects New Officers

Avondale Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers has been elected to lead the Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG), the regional planning agency for the Maricopa region. MAG is a Council of Governments and Metropolitan Planning Organization that provides a regional forum for discussion, analysis, and resolution of regional issues, including transportation, air quality, and human services. MAG prepares the 20-year Long Range Transportation Plan and five-year Transportation Improvement Program for the region. MAG was founded in 1967.

Mayor Lopez Rogers was elected chair of the MAG Regional Council during MAG’s Annual Meeting in Phoenix on Wednesday, June 27, 2012. She succeeds Tempe Mayor Hugh Hallman, who has chaired the Regional Council for the past year and whose term is expiring.

Mayor Lopez Rogers stated that a key priority for her will be to work with the MAG Economic Development Committee and Joint Planning Advisory Council to foster a viable megaregion known as the “Sun Corridor.”

“One important priority will be for us to identify the corridor’s key economic drivers and find ways to grow those opportunities,” said Mayor Lopez Rogers. “One key area of focus for us will be working to improve our trade relations with Mexico and Canada and enhance the flow of commerce into Arizona.”

Mayor Lopez Rogers will lead the MAG organization for the next year and also will preside over the MAG Executive Committee. Mayor Lopez Rogers has served on the MAG Regional Council since 2006 and MAG Executive Committee since 2007. She served as treasurer of the Regional Council from 2010 to 2011, when she was elected vice chair. The committee serves as MAG’s finance committee and is responsible for a number of administrative responsibilities, such as amendments to the budget and contract selections. She will also serve as vice chair of the MAG Economic Development Committee, and she will continue to serve on the MAG Transportation Policy Committee. She serves as the vice president of the National League of Cities and in November will become its president.

In addition to Mayor Lopez Rogers’ selection as chair, Mesa Mayor Scott Smith was elected as vice chair. Youngtown Mayor Michael LeVault was elected as treasurer. Elected as at-large members of the Executive Committee were Scottsdale Mayor W.J. “Jim” Lane, Phoenix Mayor Greg Stanton, Queen Creek Mayor Gail Barney, and Litchfield Park Mayor Thomas L. Schoaf.

The Regional Council also appointed members of the MAG Transportation Policy Committee (TPC). New members included Lt. Governor Stephen Roe Lewis of the Gila River Indian Community and Joseph E. La Rue of the State Transportation Board. The TPC is responsible for making policy recommendations to the Regional Council on transportation issues, including the Regional Transportation Plan and Transportation Improvement Program. A full listing of all Regional Council and TPC members is available on request.

For more information on MAG, the regional planning agency for the Maricopa region, please contact Kelly Taft, MAG communications manager, (602) 452-5020. There website is