The Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce has announced the 11 women chosen as finalists for its ATHENA Awards as it continues its 29-year tradition of recognizing outstanding Valley businesswomen.

The ATHENA Businesswoman of the Year Award recognizes a woman in the public and private sector, in addition to highlighting an upcoming leader in the Valley as an ATHENA Young Professional.  ATHENA finalists are chosen for their excellence in business and leadership, dedication to the community and support and mentorship of other women. The 11 finalists are:


Rebecca Clyde, Ideas Collide

Nicole Goodwin, Greenberg Traurig

Catherine Scrivano, CASCO Financial Group

Dr. Susan Wilder, LifeScape Premier, LLC


Dr. Maria Harper-Marinick, Maricopa Community Colleges

Kristine Morris, Maricopa County Education Service Agency

Carrie Smith, Foundation for Senior Living

Elena Zee, Arizona Council for Economic Education


Catherine Alonzo, Javelina

Julia Meyerson, Vista College Prep

Vanessa Valenzuela Erickson, Partnership for Economic Innovation

The 2016 ATHENA Awards Luncheon will take place on Wednesday, October 26, 2016. For more information, visit