Rumpa Dey, third from left, earned a Champions of Change Award for leadership. (Photos by Bruce Andersen and Amber Legler)

Here are the winners of the 2023 Champions of Change Awards

A sold-out crowd packed Orange Tree Golf Resort in Scottsdale on Thursday, May 18, to honor the winners and finalists of the 2023 Champions of Change Awards.

LEARN MORE: Here are the finalists for the 2023 Champions of Change Awards

DEEPER DIVE: The Most Influential Women in Arizona Business for 2022

"Champions of Change honors those individuals and companies who lift up their communities and industries and make them better in ways that benefit all of us," said Michael Gossie, editor in chief for AZ Big Media, which publishes Az Business, AZRE, Ranking Arizona and five other Arizona-based magazines. "That’s what makes this event special. Even though we will designate winners today, the efforts of today’s finalists and winners make champions of all of us."

Sponsors for the 2023 Champions of Change Awards included Presenting Sponsor PNC, Dessert Sponsor Optum, Step-and-Repeat Sponsor Lerner & Rowe and Floral Provider PJs Flowers.

From a pool of nearly 500 nominees, the the editorial board and judging panel select five finalists in 10 categories. Here are the winners of the 2023 Champions of Change Awards:

Philanthropic Business Leader of the Year: Kevin Rowe, Lerner & Rowe

Philanthropic Company of the Year: Desert Financial Credit Union

Nonprofit Leader of the Year: Torrie Taj, Child Crisis Arizona

Nonprofit Organization of the Year: The Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation for Community & Health Advancement

Healthcare Leader of the Year: Steve Purves, Valleywise Health

Healthcare Organization of the Year: Embark Behavioral Health

Most Innovative Individual Business Leader: James Goodnow, Fennemore 

Most Innovative Company of the Year: Arizona State University

Business of the Year (small and medium-sized companies ): Radix Law

Business Leader of the Year  (small and medium-sized companies ): Rumpa R. Dey, AECOM

Business Leader of the Year  (large-sized companies ): Rachel Skaff, Amazon Web Services

Business of the Year (large-sized companies ): Delta Dental of Arizona