The 30th Annual Best of the West Awards Dinner took place on Thursday, October 27, 2022 at State Farm Stadium.  It was an evening of excitement and celebration honoring the West Valley’s emerging leaders, investments, and programs. WESTMARC recognized great programs positively impacting the region in the categories of Excellence in Innovation, Economic Engine, Quality of Life Enhancement – Education, Quality of Life Enhancement – Community, and Emerging Leader Impact.

READ ALSOHere are winners of WESTMARC’s Best of the West Awards for 2021

Today, WESTMARC announced the winners in each award category.

Economic Engine: Goodyear Civic Square – GSQ

Excellence in Innovation: City of Peoria Police Department Training Academy

Quality of Life Enhancement – Community: Mission of Mercy Arizona

Quality of Life Enhancement – Education: Northern Arizona University/Littleton and Tolleson Elementary School District Partnership to Grow our Own Teachers

In addition, the WESTMARC Board of Directors recognized projects and individuals that inspire leadership and advances the West Valley. This year the WESTMARC Board of Directors honored:

Inspiration in Leadership Award  Dr. Kathleen Goeppinger, Midwestern University

Regional Advancement Award – Central Arizona Project

President’s Choice Award – Representative Joanne Osborne

President’s Choice Award – Representative Lorenzo Sierra

“WESTMARC is the West Valley’s true champion!  Our members and leaders have been highlighting great people and projects for the past 30 years.  As this region and state continues to grow, it’s important to ensure we’re preparing the future leaders to take the helm and make even greater advancements,” said Sintra Hoffman, President and CEO of WESTMARC.  “I’m excited that our newest program – West Valley Emerging Leader Impact is doing just that!”

This year, WESTMARC presented a new award, the Emerging Leader Impact Award. The award recognizes individuals who are 40 years of age or younger, living and working in the West Valley, and making an impact in their community. There were five rounds of nominations, and the finalist of each round was considered for this award. The winner of this inaugural award is: