Az Business magazine partnered with the Arizona Chapter of the Association of Corporate Counsel and the State Bar of Arizona Thursday night to present the 2020 Arizona Corporate Counsel Awards in front of a huge crowd at the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia.

“Never before have lawyers had more career options,” said AZ Big Media Editor in Chief Michael Gossie. “And law firms and law departments looking to fill key positions need to create more compelling reasons for someone to join their organization. And nowhere has the talent risen to top like it has with in-house counsel, which is clearly illustrated with the amazing 31 finalists we are honoring tonight.”

Sponsors of the Arizona Corporate Counsel Awards included presenting sponsors Cresa and Ogletree Deakins,  beverage sponsor Grant Thornton and program sponsor Littler.

Double-click on slideshow photos below to see at full resolution and size.

[espro-slider id=244308]

“There’s a very innovative trend among general counsel around the world and it’s not about technology or transformation,” said AZ Big Media Publisher Josh Schimmels. “It’s about delivering significant value to the companies they represent. And tonight, we are honoring attorneys and legal teams who truly add significant value to their Arizona companies … and to the communities those companies serve.”

Here are the winners and finalists of the 2020 Arizona Corporate Counsel Awards:

General counsel of the year

Winner: Deanna Salazar, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona

Finalists: Lacey Bundy, PetSmart, Inc.; Mark Rogers, Amkor Technology, Inc.

Large company legal department

Winner: NortonLifelock (Symantec Corporation)

Finalists: PetSmart, Inc.; Taylor Morrison

Medium company legal department

Winner: Early Warning Services/Zelle

Finalists: Carvana; Limelight Networks

Technology company

Winner: Adam Martinez, Offerpad

Finalists: Martin Felli, JDA Software Group, Inc.; Virginia O’Malley, Imaging Endpoints, LLC

Medium private company

Winner: Randy McCaskill, Tessenderlo Kerley, Inc.

Finalists: Andy Kvesic, Quantum; Brendan Mahoney, HBI International

Large private company

Winner: Erin Borg, PetSmart, Inc.

Finalists: Trevor Steege, International Cruise & Excursion, Inc.; Justin Powell, Isagenix International

Medium public company

Winner: Beth Schnell, Alliance Bank of Arizona, a division of Western Alliance Bank

Finalists: Mick Dragash, Cavco Industries, Inc.; Aileen Schwartz, Hill International

Large public company

Winner: Alexis Pheiffer, Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc.

Finalists: Susan Hanson, U-Haul International, Inc.; Dawn Valdivia, Honeywell Aerospace


Winners: Kim Dennis, Knight-Swift Transportation; Justin Powley, Axon

Finalists: Ashley Kasarjian, Republic Services; Richard Kovacik, VieMed; Rachel Molina, PetSmart, Inc.


Winner: Robert Seibel, Yuma Regional Medical Center

Community impact

Winner: APS/Pinnacle West Capital Corporation Legal Department