Arizona Forward - AB Magazine November/December 2011

Who will win Arizona Forward’s Environmental Excellence Awards?

An expert panel of jurists for Arizona’s Forwards 37th Annual Environmental Excellence Awards, presented by SRP, has wrapped up its evaluations of the entries submitted for this year’s program. Dubbed the Academy Awards of the environmental community, the program is Arizona’s oldest and most prominent competition of its kind, recognizing outstanding contributions to the environment in eight categories. This year’s entries represent a spectrum of sustainability projects that will positively steward Arizona’s natural resources.

“The competition among entries is intense this year – from green buildings and livable communities to innovative public art and clean technologies – it will be exciting to see which cities, architects, builders, corporations and others come out on top,” said Diane Brossart, President and CEO of Arizona Forward. “As sustainability evolves into our everyday lives it’s important to celebrate how far we’ve come and honor those who are doing an exceptional job. We’re proud to showcase what’s right about Arizona and advocate for its environmental sustainability and economic vitality.”

Jurists were selected for their expertise in each of the award categories, which include: Buildings & Structures; Site Development; Art in Public Places; Energy and Technology Innovation; Vitalyst Health Foundation for Healthy Communities; Northern Arizona University Environmental Education and Communication; Governor’s Award for Arizona’s Future; and Environmental Stewardship (SRP Award).

Lead judge Ed Fox retired from APS after an 18-year career where he served as Vice President State and Local Affairs, Chief Sustainability Officer and Vice President for Environment, Health, Safety, Communications, Technology Development, Real Estate and Transportation. Prior to joining APS, Fox served the State of Arizona as the Director of ADEQ.

Other jurists include: Bruce Aiken, a leading artist/painter of the Grand Canyon and the American Southwest; Richard Bowen, Associate Vice President, Northern Arizona University; Michael Bower, President/Architect, Design Group Architects; Jon Ford, Director of Communications, Vitalyst Health Foundation; Trista Guzman, Policy Assistant, Office of the Arizona Governor; Stephanie Healy, Director of Public Affairs, Cox Communications; Rob Longaker, Senior Project Manager, the WLB Group; Erik Peterson, President/Principal, PHX Architecture Design & Planning; Lori Singleton, Director, Customer Programs and Operations Support, SRP; and Laura Thelen, Landscape Architect, LVA Urban Design Studio.

Winners in Arizona Forward’s Environmental Excellence Awards program will be recognized at a gala on Saturday, Sept. 23 at the Westin Kierland Resort expected to attract some 600 business and civic leaders. The evening event will feature a museum-quality exhibit of finalist entries and a multi-media presentation showcasing the best of the best. A gourmet dinner and post awards reception will culminate the evening.

For reservations or additional information on Arizona Forward’s Environmental Excellence Awards program call (602) 240-2408 or visit

What are your thoughts on this? Give us your comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Anti-spam: complete the taskWordPress CAPTCHA