The Arizona Technology Council, in partnership with the Arizona Commerce Authority, has announced the winners of the 2022 Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards. Winners of this prestigious annual award program represent the best of the best in Arizona’s technology, science and education ecosystem. This year’s recipients were recognized tonight in a ceremony at the Phoenix Convention Center.

“The Governor’s Celebration of Innovation award winners represent the pinnacle of innovation and cutting-edge problem solving throughout the state,” said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Council and its foundation, SciTech Institute. “It was a pleasure to celebrate our winners, as well as the many outstanding finalists, at tonight’s awards show. Each year we are so proud to see how far Arizona has come as a leader in technology, science and STEM education.”

READ ALSO: Here’s how Arizona bioscience sector is making a difference

“Each year, the Governor’s Celebration of Innovation awards showcase Arizona’s vibrant technology community,” said Sandra Watson, president and CEO of the Arizona Commerce Authority. “This year’s winners and finalists certainly carry on that tradition. We are proud to partner with the Council to highlight the entrepreneurs and local leaders making Arizona a magnet for innovative technologies.”

The winners in their respective categories are:

Company Award Winners

• Innovator of the Year – Start-Up Company:, Scottsdale

• Innovator of the Year – Small Company: Sylvan Source, Green Valley

• Innovator of the Year – Large Company: IBM, Tucson

• Innovator of the Year – Academia: Chandler-Gilbert Community College and Estrella Mountain Community College

 Individual/Company Award Winners

• Transformational Leadership Award: Paragon Space Development Corporation, Tucson

• People’s Choice AccountabilIT Lifetime Achievement Award: Cecilia Mata, owner & president of AllSource Global Management, Sierra Vista

• Chairman’s Award Winner: Don Ruedy, executive emeritus, Arizona Technology Council and former director of Engineering, Raytheon, Tucson

• Ed Denison Business Leader of the Year: Marcus Engineering, LLC, Tucson

• Judges Award: Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) Team – Sandra Watson, president and CEO of Arizona Commerce AuthorityChris Camacho, president and CEO of Greater Phoenix Economic Council; and Christine Mackay, community and economic development director at City of Phoenix

Legislative Award Winners

• Senator of the Year: Sen. TJ Shope, District 8

• Representative of the Year: Rep. Jennifer Pawlik, District 17

Tech 10 Award Winners

• Sen. Sean Bowie, District 18

• Senate Assistant Minority Leader Lupe Contreras, District 19

• Senate President Karen Fann, District 1

• Sen. David Gowan, District 14

• Sen. Sine Kerr, District 13

• Rep. David Cook, District 8

• Rep. Diego Espinoza, District 19

• Rep. Joel John, District 4

• Rep. Steve Kaiser, District 15

• Rep. Justin Wilmeth, District 15

Future Innovator Awards

• Pranati Chintada, BASIS, Chandler

• Alexander Huang, Hamilton High School, Chandler

• Bremer Kaprosy, Brophy College Preparatory, Phoenix

• Kristopher Luo, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Future Innovator Honorable Mentions

• Prisha Shroff, Hamilton High School, Chandler

• Janvi Srivastava, BASIS, Scottsdale

Teacher of the Year Award: Alfred Santos, Harvest Preparatory Academy, Yuma

Teacher Honorable Mention:

• Thasanee Morrisey, Canyon View High School, Waddell

• David Wirth, Millennium High School, Goodyear

Winners and finalists were evaluated and chosen by a selection committee of experts independent of the Council who included:

• Chuck Vermillion, CEO, AccountabilIT

• Keith Latchaw, president & CEO, MSS Business Transformation Advisory

• Doug Hockstad, assistant vice president, Tech Launch Arizona, The University of Arizona

• James Goulka, chairman and managing director, Arizona Tech Investors

• Eric Miller, principal and co-founder, PADT, Inc.

• Nick Nolcheff, technology fellow, Compression Systems, Honeywell Aerospace

In addition, the Council would like to recognize and thank the Arizona Council of Engineering and Scientific Associations (ACESA) for their participation in selecting the Future Innovators and Teacher of the Year Award winners and honorable mentions.