Hundreds of people tuned in Thursday night as AZRE magazine’s 2021 Real Estate Development (RED) Awards were held virtually on the Hopin platform.

“The Real Estate Development Awards — the RED Awards — are the Academy Awards of commercial real estate,” said Michael Gossie, editor in chief of AZ Big Media, which published AZRE. “This year, the only different between the finalists for the RED Awards and the finalists for the Academy Awards is that this year’s RED Awards finalists didn’t show up on Netflix first.”

Premier sponsors for the RED Awards are DP Electric and Willmeng. The virtual sponsor is DAVIS.

With a record-setting pool of nominees and finalists, the selection committee considered these factors when choosing a winner:

• Size of the project

• Location

• Construction challenges and opportunities

• Architecture and design

• Effect on the surrounding community

• And, in some cases, the economic impact of the project.

The presenters for the RED Awards included Danielle Puente, CFO of DP Electric; Mike Krentz, president at DAVIS; Rebecca Rhoades, senior editor at AZ Big Media; James Murphy, CEO of Willmeng; and Amy Lindsey, publisher of AZ Big Media.

Here are the winners of the 2021 RED Awards

Best Industrial Project under 200,000 square feet

Skybridge 106 & 107  

Developer: SkyBridge Arizona  

General contractor: Graycor Construction Company

Architect: ADM Group 

Best Industrial Project between 200,000 and 500,000 square feet

VB | 143  

Developer: Baker Development Corporation 

General contractor: Layton Construction

Architect: Butler Design Group  

Best Industrial Project more than 500,000 square feet.

The Hub  

Developers: Creation and Clarius Partners

General contractor: LGE Design Build

Architect: LGE Design Group

Hospitality project of the year

Canopy by Hilton Tempe Downtown 

Developer: Driftwood Capital

General contractor: SUNDT Construction

Architect: Allen+Philp Partners 

Best education project K-12

Pat Tillman Middle School Rebuild 

Owner: Balsz School District

General contractor: McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.

Architect: DLR Group

Higher education project of the year

The University of Arizona Health Sciences Innovation Building

Owner: University of Arizona

General contractor: Kitchell

Architect: CO Architects with Swaim Associates

Multifamily project of the year

7180 Optima Kierland 

Developer: Optima, Inc.

General contractor: Optima, Inc.

Architect: Optima, Inc.

Healthcare project of the year

Banner Ocotillo Medical Center 

Owner: Banner Health

General contractor: Okland Construction

Architect: SmithGroup

Retail Project of the Year

Trail House at Enchantment Resort 

Owner: Enchantment Group

General contractor: PWI Construction, Inc.

Architect: Gluckman Tang Architects

Recreation or Public Works Project of the Year

Eloy City Hall 

Owner: City of Eloy

General contractor: CORE Construction

Architect: SmithGroup

Senior Living Project of the Year

Mirabella at ASU 

Developer: Mirabella at ASU LLC.

General contractor: McCarthy Building Companies

Architect: Ankrom Moisan

Redevelopment Project of the Year

Arizona State University Hayden Library Reinvention

Owner: Arizona State University

General contractor: Holder Construction Company

Architect: Ayers Saint Gross

Office Interiors Project of the Year


Developer: Lincoln Property Company

General contractor: Holder Construction

Architect: McCarthy Nordburg

Best office project less than 150,000 square feet

The Collab 

Developer: Creation

General contractor: LGE Design Build

Architect: LGE Design Group

Best office project more than 150,000 square feet

777 Tower at Novus Innovation Corridor

Developer: Ryan Companies US

General contractor: Ryan Companies US

Architect: DAVIS

Judges Awards

Catalina Parking Structure

Developer: Holualoa Companies

General contractor: Kitchell

Architect: GLHN Architects

Heidi’s Village

Owner: Virginia B. Jontes Foundation

General contractor: CHASSE Building Team

Architect: Cawley Architects

Phoenix Suns Verizon 5G Performance Center

Developer: Suns Legacy Partners, LLC

General contractor: AECOM / Hunt

Architect: DFDG Architecture

Architecture Firm of the Year

Butler Design Group

General Contractor of the Year

LGE Design Build

Developer of the Year

Opus Development Company