A physician from each of John C. Lincoln’s two hospital medical staffs and one from the Network’s physician medical practices have been honored for Distinguished Medical Service and named the Health Network’s three “Physicians of the Year” for 2012.

They are John C. Lincoln Breast Health and Research Center medical director Linda Greer, MD, representing the Deer Valley Hospital; John C. Lincoln North Mountain Hospital orthopedic trauma surgeon Laura Prokuski, MD; and family physician Jim Dearing, DO, representing John C. Lincoln’s Physician Network of primary care and specialty medical practices.

Chosen from more than 1500 physicians who are affiliated with the Health Network, each was presented with a crystal and granite award engraved with their name, affiliation and the 2012 John C. Lincoln Physician of the Year logo.

Physician of the Year candidates are nominated by John C. Lincoln co-workers, reviewed by a committee of hospital administrators and presented to the Health Network Board of Directors, who choose the winners because they represent the Health Network’s best in:
• professional competence;
• collaborative relationship with other physicians and hospital co-workers;
• caring attitude toward patients, families and co-workers; and
• honesty and ethical behavior which fosters respect, loyalty and compassion.

John C. Lincoln Health Network CEO Rhonda Forsyth said that nominators called radiologist and breast imaging specialist Dr. Greer a “five-star doctor and a wonderful person.” More than a dozen different nominations on behalf of Dr. Greer were received this year.

Among other comments by nominators were: “She exudes a genuine concern for everyone she encounters and magically molds to the needs and concerns of patients and others, making each feel cared for like family,” and “Her sense of humor takes away some of the stress patients experience during biopsies or other procedures. She is one of the kindest people I’ve met and has an amazing laugh and a heart of gold.”

Nominators also cited Dr. Greer’s local, national and international leadership in the latest breast imaging technology, including 3-D mammography, which she has traveled internationally to promote in medical educational seminars.

John C. Lincoln Hospitals CEO Bruce Pearson noted that North Mountain Hospital colleagues who nominated Dr. Prokuski wrote: “She is highly trained and remarkably skilled and, just as impressively, she is a warm, compassionate and approachable person. She adeptly shares her knowledge to assure that we have the most up to date information on the care of complex orthopedic trauma patients. She is collaborative and helpful in her approach.

“Dr. Prokuski always has the patient’s best interest at heart,” the nominations said. “She is passionate about patient safety and prevention of surgical site infections. She delivers excellent care and treats her patients with genuine compassion and concern.”
Nathan Anspach, Senior Vice President for John C. Lincoln’s network of physician practices announced that colleagues nominating Dr. Dearing wrote: “Dr. Dearing has made a commitment to meeting the needs of patients in our community for more than 25 years, delivering family medical care of the highest quality. In the past year, he has served as chief medical officer for the Physician Network and has led the development of new programs and relationships that will serve our patients in the future.

“Dr. Dearing represents our community and has helped shape public health policy in a number of prestigious national roles including the American Osteopathic Association, the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Arizona Academy of Family Physicians.”
The Physician of the Year trophies are presented annually by John C. Lincoln Health Network in conjunction with National Doctors’ Day.