Alliance of Arizona Nonprofits names new board members

Len Gutman, Foundation Relations Advisor at the American Heart Association, has been elected Chair of the Alliance of Arizona Nonprofits.

Also elected to board leadership roles are Vice Chair Torrie Taj, CEO, Child Crisis Arizona; Secretary Yvonne Moss, an attorney with Caritas Law Group; and Treasurer Mario Aniles, Director of Finance and Portfolio Management at the Housing Authority of Maricopa County.

New board members include Maria Echeveste, Senior Vice President and Community Relations Manager, Bank of America; Roger Haston, Ph.D, President, Institute for Animals; Myriah Mhoon, CEO, New Life Center; Jeri Royce, President and CEO, Esperança; and Kate Thoene, Executive Director, Waste Not Arizona.

Also serving on the board are previous Board Chair Kelly McCullough, Director of Business Development at the Contributor Development Partnership; previous Treasurer Ron Stearns, Principle, Assurance at CliftonLarsonAllen; previous Vice Chair Sonia Perillo, Development Officer at Mayo Clinic; previous Vice Chair Glenn Wike, Senior Director of Strategy and Public Policy at the Arizona Community Foundation Penny Allee Taylor, Chief Public Policy Officer at the Valley of the Sun United Way; Mesha Davis, CEO at the Arizona Foundation for Women; and Kate Jensen, President & CEO at Ronald McDonald House Charities of Southern Arizona.

“Our board reflects the tremendous diversity of our membership, in terms of both the services and resources provided to communities across Arizona as well as their expertise and life experiences. Collectively, they bring a wealth of knowledge and leadership to the Alliance,” said CEO Kristen Merrifield. “We are indebted to them for their ongoing service and we are particularly appreciative for the leadership of former chair Kelly McCullough, treasurer Ron Stearns and vice chairs Sonia Perillo and Gllenn Wike, who will continue serving out their full board terms.” 

For more information about the Alliance of Arizona Nonprofits, visit

Arizona Bankers Association elects new chairman

The Arizona Bankers Association (AzBA) announced Mr. Brian Schwallie, Head of Commercial Deposit and Payment Solutions of U.S. Bank, has been named Chairman of the Board of Directors. Also named to the AzBA Board were Mr. Ralph Tapscott, CEO & President of Horizon Community Bank, and Ms. Dina Ryan, Director-SW Region, State & Local Government Relations of Citigroup. 

AzBA elected two new executive committee members. Mr. Scott Vanderpool, Local Market Executive of Bank of America, was elected to the secretary position, and Ms. Jennifer Anderson, Executive Vice President of Wells Fargo Bank, was elected to the treasurer position on the Executive Committee. 

The Arizona Bankers Association also recognizes the service of the Immediate Past Chairman, Jack Barry, Chairman & CEO, Arizona Region of Enterprise Bank & Trust.

NAWBO Phoenix Chapter announces new executive board

The NAWBO Phoenix chapter 2020-21 inducted its board of directors and executive officers this month on June 17th. The board was sworn in at a virtual meeting which was available for any chapter member to attend.

Motivational speaker Jean Briese will be taking over as President for the upcoming term, and is joined by President-Elect Rosaria Cain of knoodle agency. They will serve with a board of dedicated women, several of whom are new members of the NAWBO Phoenix Chapter.

As president Briese is excited to build on the successes of the past year under business owner Angela Garmon, and she looks forward to continue building on the important vision and mission of the organization. She hopes to grow Phoenix chapter membership and provide new resources and tools for members.

“The currency for 2020 is change. Extraordinary change. As NAWBO Phoenix President this year I am committed to being an agent for positive change and a fierce advocate for strengthening our community and our members,” said Briese regarding her upcoming term. “Women business owners in our community transform the way we do things, create jobs, spur economic growth, and drive prosperity for all. When we elevate women business owners we strengthen the entire community.”

NAWBO Phoenix Executive Board 2020-2021


Jean Briese, Jean Briese, LLC


Rosaria Cain, knoodle


Joy Cervantes, BeachFleischman


Dr. Nadia Brown, The Doyenne Leadership


Kaitlyn Laney, Silverhawk Private Wealth

Imelda Hartley, Imelda Happy Tamales


Melanie Moscicki, Social Manna, LLC


Robin Thompson, kairos strategy group

Corporate Partners

Dee Daniels, Women’s Network News

Ashley Ament, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management

Neighborhood NAWBOS

Julie Cook, Arizona Casting and VuWest

Collaborative Cohorts

Amanda Schneider, Abundance on Purpose


Ronit Urman, Urman Enterprises LLC

Public Policy

Ania Kubicki, knoodle

Community Alliance

Angela Garmon, ARG Coaching & Consulting Group