C&W | PICOR recognizes 2020 standouts

Cushman & Wakefield | PICOR saluted its 2020 outstanding achievers who were honored at the company’s innovative and safely distanced annual awards luncheon held via videoconference on January 27, 2021.  It was a challenging year for our client base of investors and businesses occupying offices, retail space and warehouses. As the pandemic unfolded, our team worked tirelessly to make accommodations to help connect small businesses to resources to get them through tough times.  Congratulations and much appreciation to the following:

Company Awards

• President’s Award for Excellence:  Tina Olson

• Peter H. Douglas Heart & Soul Award:  Rebecca Fuentes

Brokerage Awards

Winner’s Circle (Top Producers)

• # 1 Producer:  Allan Mendelsberg

• # 2 Producer:  Richard M. Kleiner, MBA

• # 3 Producer:  Dave Hammack

Division Leaders (Highest Producers)

• Industrial:  Stephen Cohen

• Retail:  Dave Hammack

• Office/Medical:  Richard M. Kleiner, MBA

• Multifamily:  Allan Mendelsberg

Admin Awards

• Admin Employee of the Year:  Maria Ayres

Property Management Awards

• MVP:  Angie Benedict

• Manager of the Year:  Sierra Howard

• Tenant Relations Award:  Mark Isenberger

AZBio Officers (row 1, left to right): Kristen Swingle, Critical Path Institute; Brian Mower, Regenesis Biomedical; Jeff Singleton, EY, Jeff Vallerga, Avantor. AZBio’s newly elected Board Members (row 2): Kirby Consier, Novartis; David A. Dexter, Sonora Quest; Jerianne Gerloff, Pfizer; Cathy Langham, Langham Logistics; Mary O’Reilly, PhD, Flinn Foundation; Steven Potts, PhD, OncoMyx Therapeutics; Craig Woods, DVM, Institute for Healthcare Innovation at Midwestern University.

AZBio elects 2020 officers and adds new board members

The Arizona Bioindustry Association, Inc. (AZBio) Board of Directors has elected its 2021 officers and welcomes seven new board members in 2021.

The AZBio Board of Directors work on behalf of Arizona’s Bioscience and Healthcare community to pursue the  organization’s vision of Arizona as a top tier bioscience sector.

Since 2003, the Arizona Bioindustry Association (AZBio) has supported life science innovation and life science innovators in Arizona.  A key component in Arizona’s life science ecosystem, AZBio is the only statewide organization exclusively focused on Arizona’s bioscience industry.  AZBio membership includes patient advocacy organizations, life science innovators, educators, healthcare partners and leading business organizations. AZBio is the statewide affiliate of the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) and works in partnership with AdvaMed, MDMA, and PhRMA to advance innovation and to ensure that the value delivered from life-changing and life-saving innovation benefit people in Arizona and around the world.

AZBio’s Executive Committee in 2021 includes:

• Chairwoman – Kristen Swingle, Critical Path Institute

• Vice Chair – Brian Mower, Regenesis Biomedical

• Treasurer – Jeff Singleton, EY

• Secretary – Jeff Vallerga, Avantor

• Immediate Past Chair – Russ Yelton, Yelton  and Associates

• William F. Mulholland, III, Snell & Wilmer

• President & CEO – Joan Koerber-Walker

AZBio’s newly elected Board Members include:

• Kirby Consier, Novartis

• David A. Dexter, Sonora Quest

• Jerianne Gerloff, Pfizer

• Cathy Langham, Langham Logistics

• Mary O’Reilly, PhD, Flinn Foundation

• Steven Potts, PhD, OncoMyx Therapeutics

• Craig Woods, DVM, Institute for Healthcare Innovation at Midwestern University

AZBio Board Members continuing to serve in 2021 include:

• Kiran Avancha, PhD, HonorHealth Research Institute

• Mara Aspinall, Health Catalyst & Blue Stone Ventures

• Joel Barthelemy, GlobalMed

• Jennifer Barton, PhD, BIO5 Institute at The University of Arizona

• Peter Bawin, CBR a California Cryobank Company

• Jeff Buel Johnson & Johnson

• Rick Buss, City of Peoria

• MaryAnn Guerra, Aesthetics Biomedical

• Jason Jardine, Knobbe Martens

• Dan Kasprzyk, Symple Surgical and POBA Medical

• Renae Moomjian, Acacia Consultants

• Elliott Mufson, PhD, Dignity Health

• Stephen Munk, PhD, Biodesign Institute at Arizona State University

• Galen Perry, Translational Genomics Research Institute, an affiliate of City of Hope

• Beth Sheppard, Roche Tissue Diagnostics

• Stephanie Simpson, Sanofi US

• Alex Tessmer, BD

• Sandra Watson, Arizona Commerce Authority

• Kyle Wesley, Medtronic Tempe Campus

• Claudia Whitehead, City of Phoenix

To learn more about these leaders and their roles in our community, please visit the AZBio Board Page.

Jokake promotes controller to CFO

Jokake Construction has promoted Diana Bujnovsky from Controller to CFO effective immediately. Diana has been instrumental in positioning Jokake’s representation in associations and community involvement, as well as supporting the company with the appropriate certifications. Her 10 years with the company have provided her the leadership and management strategies within the legal, financial, and cultural environments. Diana’s relationships and broad knowledge base will undoubtedly further the company’s growth plan for client and service offerings.

Bujnovsky stated, “It has been my honor to work, learn and grow side by side with the amazing team at Jokake.  I am very excited to transition into this new role where my focus will be on Jokake’s financial strength and strategic growth into new services and markets.”

President/CEO Casey Cartier remarked, “I am excited about her ambition around growth. We will look to Diana to leverage her strong relationships within the banking community, and we will look for her leadership with the management of the ESOP Trust accounts, which as a past Trustee she is very familiar with. I am so confident that her talents, and ambition, will help us move into incredible opportunities as we grow.”

Jokake Construction was honored with Phoenix Business Journal’s Arizona Corporate Excellence Awards and as one of 2020’s Most Admired Companies. The team is poised to accomplish an exciting year in 2021, and was named a company to watch by AZ Big Media.

Terracon promotes Tom “Mando” Kapita, P.E., to principal

Tom “Mando” Kapita, P.E., regional leader of the Geo-Structural Design and Instrumentation (GDI) practice for engineering consultant Terracon, Inc., recently was promoted to Principal.

Terracon’s Principal program is designed to recognize and reward employees whose leadership helps fulfill the firm’s “purpose of exploring beyond the surface” commitment as a leader on safe, profitable growth while modeling Terracon’s core values.

The role of a Principal includes significant contribution beyond “daily responsibilities” in terms of leadership in advancing the company in areas such as technical capability, client experience, employee experience and community.

Kapita, who has been with Terracon for 20 years, is Manager of Regional Services and is the firm’s Rocky Mountain Region GeoDesign lead. He is tasked with strengthening and expanding Terracon’s GeoDesign services. He is responsible for client development and management, mentoring and managing staff, and project review approval in charge of GeoDesign project quality review.

“As a leader, Mando embodies our core values and focuses on growing and developing his staff so we can take care of our clients,” said Tim Anderson, Executive Vice President/Western Operating Group for Terracon. “Under his leadership, we have seen solid growth in GDI through the diversification of our services, adding new team members, and focusing on improving the overall client experience. We want to recognize Mando for his solid and sustained contributions to Terracon and are proud to announce his appointment to Principal.”