The Arizona Masonry Council recently celebrated its 31st Annual Excellence in Masonry Architectural Awards, with 15 projects recognized for their outstanding masonry design, workmanship, and creativity with the use of brick, block and/or stone.

The banquet honored this year’s finest at the Scottsdale Resort McCormick Ranch with more than 400 industry members in attendance.

“The grandeur and scope of the winning projects is a testament to the skills of our members, and companies that support these industry professionals,” said Arizona Masonry Council Executive Director Dawn Rogers. “I was particularly impressed by the diversity of our winning projects. The jurists made notice of that as well.”

READ ALSO: Ranking Arizona Top 10 lists for 2022

This year’s architectural jury panel was from Colorado. Cheri Gerou, FAIA, Colorado State Architect, and Phil Gerou, FAIA, Principal at Gerou & Associates Architects, served as head co-jurists. Also on the jury were Peter Monroe, PE, IMEG; Jerry Thoma, President, JVS Masonry; and Brian Montelongo, Sales Manager, Colorado Best Block.

The Craftsmanship Jury consisted of three retired masons from Arizona: Jan Hill retired from Roma Masonry, Richard Springfield retired from Sun Valley Masonry and Don White retired from Roma Masonry.

Top honors for 2022, the Gold Trowel Award, went to the ASU Durham Hall Renovation, Gold Trowel Non-Residential, also the winner of the Craftsmanship and Honor Awards for Non-Residential; and Four Sevens, Gold Trowel Residential, also the winner of the Craftsmanship and Honor Awards for Residential.

Teams for the Gold Trowel Award winners:

ASU Durham Hall Renovation: Arizona Board of Regents, owner; Ayers Saint Gross, Architect; PK Associates, structural engineering firm; Okland Construction, general contractor; Sun Valley Masonry, major masonry Contractor; and Summit Brick, major masonry supplier.

Four Sevens: Bill Cleverly, owner; MACKOS Architecture and Construction, architect and general contractor; BDA Design, structural engineering firm; Pioneer Masonry, major masonry contractor; and Superlite, and Oldcastle company, major masonry supplier.

Category winners:

Non-residential Honor Award: CDO Baptist Church

 Non-residential Merit Award: Roden Crater South Space

 Non-residential Merit Award: West Point High School

 Residential Merit Award: Whittock Residence

 Residential Merit Award: Hillside Contemporary

 Non-residential Citation Award: Avondale Fire Station No. 175

 Non-residential Citation Award: Helios Education Campus

 Non-residential Citation Award: Arizona College Preparatory

Non-residential Citation Award: Grand Midrise

Non-residential Citation Award: Creighton University

Residential Citation Award: Palo Verde Lot 1

Residential Citation Award: Sparks Residence

Residential Citation Award: Rathee Residence

The Excellence in Masonry Architectural Awards program is sponsored by the Arizona Masonry Council, a non-profit organization servicing the masonry industry in Arizona.

Click here for photos and complete project teams of all the 2022 winners.