The Gilbert Chamber of Commerce, in partnership with the Town of Gilbert, education partners and others, will honor outstanding businesses and individuals on September 27th at the 23rd Annual Gilbert Community Excellence Awards, presented by APS.

The following award recipients will be recognized:

Chandler-Gilbert Community College

• Sue Gaumont, Educator of the Year Award
• Julie Wright, Staff Member of the Year Award

Gilbert Chamber of Commerce

• Newman Realty, Spirit of Business Award
• Former Mayor Cynthia Dunham, Visionary Award
• Jan Newton, Nothing Bundt Cakes, The Leon Uhlhorn Chairman’s Award

Gilbert Public Schools

• Vicki Willems, The Dr. Wally Delecki Educator of the Year Award
• Sherry Hornby, The Mrs. Sharon Orr Support Staff of the Year Award
• Dawn Romero, The Mrs. Sheila Rogers Uggetti Volunteer of the Year Award

Higley Unified School District

• Sarah Beimfohr, Educator of the Year Award
• Angie Marqueling, Support Staff of the Year Award
• Bob Lilienthal with Plato & Socrates, Volunteer of the Year Award

The Gilbert Republic

• Nationwide Realty Investors-Rivulon Project, Beautification Award
Paul Norbut, The Geneva Clay Community Volunteer Award

Town of Gilbert

• James Nelson, Tim Dorn Public Safety Award

• Larry Taylor, Mayor’s Municipal Employee of the Year Award

• Jim Frazier, Municipal Volunteer of the Year Award 

Sponsored by APS, this formal evening is filled with celebration as we honor those in the community who have excelled in the areas of business, education and community involvement. A partnership between the Gilbert Chamber of Commerce, Gilbert Public Schools, Higley Unified School District, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, the Town of Gilbert and The Gilbert Republic, the evening is truly a community event!

This event features Gilbert’s Culinary Showcase with samplings provided by some of your local, favorite restaurants. A cash bar will be available for the purchase of soda, beer, and wine.

 Individual tickets are $55 or a table for eight can be purchased for $440. For more information, contact Annette at (480) 941-6320 or register online at