The Greater Phoenix Chamber announced the 11 women chosen as finalists for its prestigious ATHENA Awards, continuing its strong tradition of recognizing outstanding Valley businesswomen. 

The ATHENA Businesswoman of the Year Award recognizes a woman in the public and private sectors, in addition to highlighting an upcoming leader in the Valley as an ATHENA Young Professional.  ATHENA finalists are chosen for their excellence in business and leadership, dedication to the community, and support and mentorship of other women.

The 11 finalists are:

Private Sector finalists:

Rhonda Bannard, President & Chief Connector, Inspired Connections

• Rachel Frazier Johnson, Esq., Principal & Managing Attorney, Rachel Frazier Johnson Law     

Monica Garnes, Division President, Fry’s Food Stores

• Doris Savron, Vice Provost, Academic Colleges, University of Phoenix   

Public Sector finalists:

• Peggy J. Chase, President & CEO, Terros Health

• Chevy Humphrey, The Hazel A. Hare President & CEO, Arizona Science Center

• Torrie Taj, CEO, Child Crisis Arizona

Christine K. Wilkinson, PhD, Senior Vice President & Secretary of the University; CEO & President, ASU Alumni Association, Arizona State University

Young Professional finalists:

• Veronica Aguilar, Associate Director of Alumni Career Services, Arizona State University

• Anna Carolina Ortiz, International Program Director, Esperança

• Monica Trejo, Arizona State Director, National Domestic Workers Alliance/Care in Action

“In a year unlike anything we’ve experienced before, we are proud to shine a light on the great work being done in Arizona by honoring an incredible group of ATHENA finalists. These women are making unbelievable contributions to enact positive change and ensure the Greater Phoenix region remains strong. They represent the best of the best our community has to offer and I look forward to seeing how they will lead us into the future,” said Todd Sanders, President & CEO of the Greater Phoenix Chamber. “Congratulations to our 2020 ATHENA Awards finalists.” 

The ATHENA Awards highlight women who have achieved the pinnacle of success within their industry, have mentored women throughout their career, and have dedicated their time to their community and making a difference in the lives of others. 

Join the Greater Phoenix Chamber to celebrate outstanding businesswomen in our community and to support all nominees, finalists and recipients past and present.

WHO: Three ATHENA Award recipients will be announced during the 33rd Annual ATHENA Awards luncheon.

WHEN: Friday, Nov. 6, 2020 | 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

WHERE: Virtual Event

REGISTER: Register here | Registration closes on Monday, Nov. 2 at 5 p.m.

QUESTIONS: Email with any questions.


The Chamber congratulates all of the 2020 ATHENA Nominees: 

Private Sector Nominees

Barbara Gould, Point B

Bettina Nava, OH Strategic Communications

Carol May, Wisdom Natural Brands

Carrie Masters, LGE Design Build

Cheryl Naumann, University of Phoenix

Christine Gannon, Brightworks Consulting

Christine Nowaczyk, BOK Financial

Dana Lam, Surprise Date Challenge

Doris Savron, University of Phoenix

Emily Finch, Dance 101

Erica Tatum Sheade, Integrated Mental Health Association

Eunique Yazzie, euniQue LLC

Imelda G. Castro, Intel Corporation

Jennifer Dimeck, Four Leaf Financial & Accounting

Jenny Poon, Co+Hoots

Jodi Low, U & Improved

Joni M. Horn, Arizona Freelance Interpreting Services

Kathryn Uhles, University of Phoenix

Kathy A. Till, La-Z-Boy Home Furnishings

Lisa Riley, Wells Fargo

Luisa Leon, AzLotusArt

Maria T. Echeveste, Bank of America

Mary Beth Reisinger, Plexus Worldwide, LLC

Mary Rabago, Mary Rabago Productions

Melissa Boyles, Jacobs Engineering Group

Monica Garnes, Fry’s Food Stores

Nicole Johnson, Willis Towers Watson

Norma C. Izzo, Jennings, Strouss & Salmon PLC

Olivia Fierro, AZ Family Meredith Corporation

Polly Bristow, USAA

Rachel Frazier Johnson, Rachel Frazier Johnson Law

Rhonda Bannard, Inspired Connections

Sally Johnson, Lockton Companies

Shaney M. Salomon, Optima ECM Consulting

Stephanie Roldan, Rosendin

Stephanie Vasquez, The Fair Trade Cafe

Sun Jones, University of Phoenix

Susan Wissink, Fennemore Craig

Teri Twarkins Kelley, Morgan Stanley

Vikki Hale, Zovio 

Public Sector Nominees

Andrea Whitsett, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy

Anne Gill, Tempe Chamber of Commerce

Chevy Humphrey, Arizona Science Center

Christine K. Wilkinson, Arizona State University

Erica McFadden, Arizona Developmental Disabilities Planning Council

Holly Rose, Don’t be a Chump! Check for a Lump!

Jody Farley, The Singletons

Julie Peterson, Sojourner Center

Kim Covington, Arizona Community Foundation

Kimberly B. Roland, Better Business Bureau

Lorraine Tallman, Amanda Hope Rainbow Angels

Marcia Mintz, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Valley

Nancy Padberg, Catholic Education Arizona

Natalia Ronceria Ceballos, La NRC

Peggy Chase, Terros Health

Shereka Jackson, Future Stars, Inc.

Shivani Dubey, U.S. Small Business Administration

Sophie Etchart, Read Better Be Better

Tamika Walton, Arizona Department of Revenue

Tara S. Laurie, Youth World Education Project

Torrie A. Taj, Child Crisis Arizona 

Young Professional Nominees

Anna Carolina Ortiz, Esperança

Bella Hibbs, Good Faith Casting LLC

Breanna Naegeli, Grand Canyon University

Hillary Kuenn, HiConsulting, LLC

Jessi Wright, Paradise Valley Community College

Jodi Petersen, Cornerstone Christian Fellowship

Julie Euber, YNPN Phoenix

Krystal Keilholtz, Rosendin Electric

Lindsay Moellenberndt, Fennemore Craig

Monica Trejo, National Domestic Workers Alliance/Care in Action

Sonia Rivera, Mujeron Movement

Stephanie Greenfield, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices

Trisha Larson, Morgan Stanley

Veronica Aguilar, Arizona State University